Create, edit and delete segment groups | RightMessage

Create, edit and delete segment groups

Segment Groups are the foundational component to your personalizations in RightMessage

Segment groups determine the types of conditions required to be met in order for a visitor, subscriber, member or customer to see the personalizations you add to a website.

In This Article:


Creating a new segment group

In your RightMessage dashboard for the website you are personalizing, click ‘Segments’ in the admin bar.


Personal Panda says:


The segment area in RightMessage does not replace the tools you use for managing tags/segments in your ESP/CRM account. If you have not created a RightMessage segment yet, this area will appear blank when you first navigate to this area.

In the left sidebar, click the ‘+ Add’ icon to create a new segment group.


Select the type of segment your new segment group will be used for.


Selecting a segment type will load the segment editor to complete the segment group set up.

Chosing a pre-defined segment group

If a pre-defined segment group has been selected, the segment editor will load the pre-defined settings for the segment group. You will be able to:

  • Edit the segment group name
  • Edit and add segments
  • Sync with your ESP
  • Add auto-segment conditions

Chosing the custom segment group

If the custom segment group has been selected, the segment editor will load the default settings for the segment group.

You will be able to:

  • Edit the segment group name
  • Add segments
  • Sync with your ESP
  • Add auto-segment conditions

How to change the segment group name

Once the segment group has been created, you can edit the segment group name.

To change the name of the segment group, click on the segment group name in the main segment editing screen.


Edit the existing name or add a new name in the field provided.

Click the yellow ‘save’ button to save the new name.


How to delete a segment group

If you no longer need a segment group for your personalizations, you can delete the segment group.

To delete a segment segment, hover over the segment name and click the trash can icon.


Before the segment group is deleted, an alert box will appear to confirm that you want to delete the segment. Click ‘Yes, Delete Forever’ to continue.


RightMessage will delete the segment group.

Click the ‘Publish’ button to save the changes.