Create, edit and delete segments | RightMessage

Create, edit and delete segments

Within your segment groups you can add, edit and delete individual segments that belong to that group.

Adding segments within a segment group lets you create numerous types of conditions for the different visitors, subscribers, members or customers on your site to meet, in order to see any personalizations you add to a website.

In This Article:

Creating a new segment for your segment group

In your RightMessage dashboard for the website you are personalizing, click ‘Segments’ in the admin bar.


In the left sidebar, click the name of the segment group you want to add a new segment to.


Click the ‘+ Add a new segment’ button on the right side of the main segment creation area to add a new segment to the segment group selected.


A new segment box will appear in the main segment editing area.

Add a name for the segment in the field provided and click the yellow ‘save’ button.


Use the drop down in the segment box to add one or more conditions for the new segment. Fill out the required field(s) for the condition chosen.


To add more conditions to the segment, click the ‘+ and’ or ‘+ or (another set of conditions)’ buttons.

Personal Panda says:


Using the ‘+ and’ button to add a new condition will require the visitor, subscriber, member or customer to meet ALL conditions in order for personalizations to be shown. If you want your visitor, subscriber, member or customer to meet just one of the conditions, use the ‘+ or (another set of conditions)’ button.

To make sure your new segment is saved, click the ‘Publish’ button in the top right corner of the screen.


How to edit a segment group

Once a segment has been created, you can edit the segment details.

To change the name of the segment, open the box of the segment you wish to change, and click on the segment name in the main segment editing screen.


Edit the existing name or add a new name in the field provided.

Click the yellow ‘save’ button to save the new name.


Once you have saved the new segment group name, make sure to click ‘Publish’ in the top right of the screen to save the new changes.


How to delete a segment

If you no longer need a segment for your personalization, you can delete the segment from the segment group.

To delete a segment, open the box of the segment you wish to delete and click the trash can icon to the right of the segment name.


Before the segment is deleted, an alert box will appear to confirm that you want to delete the segment. Click ‘OK’ to continue.


RightMessage will delete the segment from the segment group.

Click the ‘Publish’ button to save the changes.